Monday, 20 June 2016

Welsh Ponies and Cobs

There are 4 separate types of Welsh pony or cob:
  • Section A - the Welsh Mountain Pony 
  • Section B - Welsh Pony 
  • Section C - Welsh Pony of Cob Type 
  • Section D - Welsh Cob


Welsh ponies were once found on the moutains of Wales living wild.  The harsh climate meant that they developed into a hardy breed and they are able to survive on limited grazing.  Welsh Cobs were an indispensable part of Welsh country life for centuries.   They were used on farms for ploughing but also in harness and for riding to transport farmers and their families. 

Later many of the smaller ponies were used in the mines.  Other breeds have been introduced over the years including the Thoroughbred and Hackney.  In 1901the first stud book was established and in the years that followed the Welsh ponies were divided into the 4 separate types.

During World War I the cobs were in great demand as pack horses.  Unfortunately, though,  between the wars Welsh Pony numbers fell significantly.


Section A : under 12.0hh
Section B: under 13.2 hh
Section C: under 13.2hh but are heavier than the Section B
Section D: over 13.2hh

Colour:  Any solid colour.

Conformation:  The head is small but the eyes are large.  The neck is long but the shoulders strong. The back is muscular and strong with powerful quarters.  Legs are also strong and the hooves are well shaped.

Temperament: All types have excellent temperaments.  They have great stamina and are generally good doers.

The 4 different types are ideal for family ponies. They are used for showing, jumping, driving and trekking.


The Welsh Pony and Cob Society website:

Look out for this week's video on my You Tube channel and if you haven't already check out  'Tommy's Spring Makeover'  !
Horse Life and Love.  Please check it out and SUBSCRIBE.

You can also follow me on Facebook and Instagram for updates on Chesney, Basil, Tommy and Daisy.

Until next time!

No comments:

Post a Comment